Bazar

Disney’s Pollyanna was one of my favorite movies growing up, and one of my favorite scenes was the bazar.  Displays, food, good times, signing, and a sense of community togetherness.  It doesn’t get much better than that.  Thanks to that movie, I have always wanted to go to a bazar… well, two days ago I finally got my chance.  Granted, I didn’t get to dress up as part of the American flag (everyone, even Fabienne or the Jones girls were being stinkers and refused to do it with me… sheesh!) or sing “America the Beautiful” in my best British accent, but hey, it was pretty fabulous.  It was held at the Dutch ambassador’s residence (HUGE!! and complete with gorgeous gardens and a swimming pool).  Vendors from all over Africa and foreign diplomats were selling their wares, and it was really fun to see the varieties in goods.

There were so many beautiful items and the artist in me was in awe over some of the craftsmanship.  Seriously – when you consider that all of the jewelry and sculptures were done by hand in various woods and metals, it’s pretty impressive.

So today’s post will basically be a photo essay of my experience.  Enjoy!

Touareg jewelry from Niger: hand-etched silver and ebony

DSC_0034 DSC_0039 DSC_0037 DSC_0035

French Polynesian carpenter: hand-carved African seating, tables, and drums with a Polynesian twist

DSC_0064 DSC_0025 DSC_0023 DSC_0018 DSC_0015 DSC_0012 DSC_0010 DSC_0009 DSC_0007 DSC_0006

DSC_0063

Trinkets from Mali, Mauritania and Senegal

DSC_0054DSC_0049 DSC_0042 DSC_0041

Sculptures from various West African countries, including Chad, Mauritania, Mali and SenegalDSC_0053 DSC_0052 DSC_0050 DSC_0051 DSC_0046 DSC_0045 DSC_0040 DSC_0058 DSC_0057 DSC_0056

7 thoughts on “Bazar

      • Looks it. I’m quite jealous, I only go to the grocery store these days. But at least I can live vicariously… Thanks for sharing your wonderful pictures. My favorite was the statue of the mom holding the child up in the air.

      • You’re welcome, and thank you for the compliment. That statue was one of my favorites, too. Please drop by again!

  1. This brings back beautiful memories! Your photography s wonderful! I love the creative spirit of the Senegalese people.

  2. Lark,
    Thank you for sharing your experiences with us! It is wonderful to read and see through your eyes as well as through your lens.
    love,
    Amberson’s

Leave a Reply

