My New Digs

So my first week and a half back in the United States has been a whirlwind of activity.  I’ll write more about all of the events in a later post, but tonight I wanted to post some pictures of my room in my new apartment in Madison.  As soon as the rest of the apartment is ready, my roommate and I will take more pictures and show off the whole thing. But for now, here are some pictures of my room and my bathroom.  I’m still searching for a teal bedspread, and I plan on making some photo tiles to put in my bathroom that will feature some of my photographs from France.  You’ll see which ones a little further below… So things aren’t quite done yet, but they’re far enough along that I thought I’d share these… 🙂

Bedroom

Looking into my room from the dining nook/front room.  On the left is a piece that I created that features a post card of an olive grove in southern France, a picture of Christ in Gethsemane, and olive leaves from some of the wild olive trees that grow on the BYU campus.

Looking into my room from the dining nook/front room. On the left is a piece that I created and framed that features a post card of an olive grove in southern France, a picture of Christ in Gethsemane, and olive leaves from some of the wild olive trees that grow on the BYU campus.

My desk and framed artwork, bachelor's degree,  a certificate from my boss at BYU, and my graduation tassels
My desk and framed artwork, bachelor’s degree, a certificate from my boss at BYU, and my graduation tassels

Just in case you were wondering, I like France...
Just in case you were wondering, I like France…

French National Honors Society cords, BYU bachelor of arts tassel (white), UW's masters degree tassel (black), and UW alumni tassel (red)
When I frame my master’s degree, it will go above my bachelor’s degree. Next to the degrees are my French National Honors Society cords, BYU bachelor of arts tassel (white), UW’s masters degree tassel (black), and UW alumni tassel (red)

My beautiful Japanese orchids and my Grandma's glass apple.  Grandpa gave it to me just a year or so before he passed away because I'm the "professor" of the family.
My beautiful Japanese orchids and my Grandma’s glass apple. Grandpa gave it to me just a year or so before he passed away because I’m the “professor” in the family.

I spray painted my bed frame an espresso color to match the rest of my woodwork.  Above my bed are knick-knacks from Senegal (giraffe), France (Eiffel Tower), a Boyd's Bear sister figurine (Amber) Iraq (brass camel) Jerusalem (oil lamp).  I'm still looking for a teal bedspread...
I spray painted my bed frame an espresso color to match the rest of my woodwork. Above my bed are knick-knacks from Senegal (giraffe), France (Eiffel Tower), a Boyd’s Bear sister figurine (Amber) Iraq (brass camel), and Jerusalem (oil lamp). I may switch out the giraffe from time to time and put out some of my other sculptures from Senegal. And like I said above, I’m still looking for a teal bedspread…

Around the corner - my bookshelf filled with books that relate directly to my dissertation... And yes, I HAVE read ALL of them!

Around the corner – my bookshelf filled with books that relate directly to my dissertation… And yes, I HAVE read ALL of them!

Bathroom DSC_0013DSC_0014

I'll be able to switch out the colors of the hand towels and wash cloths (burgundy and cream).  The middle shelf features my olive leaf candle holders.  A 5x7 photo tile will have a picture of the gardens of the 14th century cathedral cloister in Aix-en-Provence

I’ll be able to switch out the colors of the hand towels and wash cloths (burgundy and cream). The middle shelf features my olive leaf candle holders. A 5×7 photo tile will have a picture of the gardens of the 14th century cathedral cloister in Aix-en-Provence

The garden - the watermark won't be on the final product

The garden – the watermarks on this picture and the following 3 won’t be on the final products

Easels for the 8x10 photo tiles - behind the door/next to the large towel rack next to the shower

Easels for the 8×10 photo tiles – behind the door/next to the large towel rack next to the shower

Pompeii-esque WM copy_2_2

Collanade line WM copy

The columns in the 14th century cathedral cloister.  This type of double-columned colonnade is rare, and the capitals of the columns are all different.  Everything here was hand carved!  True artistic and architectural treasures!

The columns in the 14th century cathedral cloister. This type of double-columned colonnade is rare, and the capitals of the columns are all different. Everything here was hand carved! True artistic and architectural treasures!

This is a VERY OLD (like 200 years old) engraving of Quinconces, a medieval castle/fortress in Bordeaux.  I passed this place nearly every day for the first 6 months of my mission.  I found the engraving for a mere 25 euro and I had it framed in Utah.  The boxwood topiaries match the topiaries in the garden picture that will be on the towel rack above the toilet.

This is a 100 year old engraving of Quinconces, a town square located where a medieval castle/fortress once stood in Bordeaux, France. I passed this place nearly every day for the first 6 months of my mission. I found the engraving for a mere 25 euro and I had it framed in Utah. The boxwood topiaries match the topiaries in the garden picture that will be on the towel rack above the toilet.

Front Room

The common area isn’t quite finished yet, but I bought this abaca basket (a banana-type tree native to the Philippines) that doubles as a coffee table and a storage area for my blankets and French tablecloths.  I love the combination of texture of the wood and the freshness of the (fake) grass.  Once the area is finished off, I’ll post more pictures of the room.

My basket/coffee table and a cameo of my roommate's electronics

My basket/coffee table and a cameo of my roommate’s electronics

So there you go!  A glimpse into how I employ my education from all of my interior design classes and TA-ing (thanks, Karla!), and my tastes.  It’s been fun to have the space and the means to decorate my own place.

2 thoughts on “My New Digs

  1. Show off!! Were you up till all hours putting this together in three days??? Either that or you planned obsessively prior to!! Lol! This is great Lark, and what an awesome feeling when you finally have you’re own place! Bises, F

  2. From: marbapaul@q.com To: “Lark Porter” Sent: Friday, June 28, 2013 12:38:16 PM Subject: Last day in Senegal

    Dear Lark, Your ability to communicate and correspond with friends and family is just unequaled. Thank you so very much for your including us in your blog. We can feel your spirit and your eagerness to convey to us how eager you are to get home, but how pleased and satisfied you are with your last 10 months of dedicated effort. You are a “stupendous” girl. As you express your love for your family and convey how very much you love the people you have been working amongst the trust and faith and confidence for them and for yourself realizing you couldn’t have accomplished all you have accomplished except the Holy Ghost was constantly your companion. You are a fabulous girl!

    It seems to us that you have met people and charmed them and gained their confidence where very many others would have been turned away. You are a most kind and loving young lady and the Lord loves to work in you and through you in communicating to his children.

    The whole story of the Robinson Family and some prepared missionaries is a beautiful story and has so many desired qualities in its content. What a thrill it will be for your Dad and Mom, Sisters and now some special brothers and nephews to see the world traveler and express genuineness of love, faith and success.

    We love you, Lark, and we are not sure when we will be privileged to meet and visit. We will always be concerned for your welfare and the sincere love we have for you and all the Robinsons that goes back in history to August of 1948. God bless you. Continue in His paths and always number yourself with one of his choice daughters.

    Love, Paul and Marba

    P.S. We worried that you would not get the blog as we don’t have an account. Here is what we wrote on your Blog.

Leave a Reply

