Sitting in the Sun

Kenneth E. Behring

Today I made this little piece to go along with a magnificently framed canvas of Christ healing a man at the Pool of Bethesda.  The two will be featured together in a prominent place in a friend’s home for everyone to see.

The man who gave this commencement speech, Kenneth E. Behring, is a philanthropist and founder of the Wheelchair Foundation and he spoke about the blessings that you and I share, blessings that are so mundane to us but are so life-changing for other individuals of the world who are not so fortunate.  I highly recommend reading the whole speech (provided below).  It doesn’t take money or influence to change someone’s life or to bring a ray of sunshine to someone who needs a pick-me-up.  Loving someone and helping them “sit in the sun” can be as simple and as easy as giving a phone call, smiling, or sending an email.

How grateful I am for the people in my life who have done this for me – in some way, shape, or form.

I hope that I, too, can do this for someone else.

Behring This Ministry of Mobility

1 thought on “Sitting in the Sun

  1. Lovely. And much more meaningful now that you have experienced Africa in the way that you have. Go and do some good is great advice for us all.

Leave a comment